When Does A DUI Conviction Become A Felony In Georgia?
Being convicted of a DUI felony in Georgia could have severe consequences on several elements of your life. It is in your best interest to reach out to an Athens DUI attorney immediately after you have been arrested for a DUI offense.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a severe offense in Georgia, and in some cases, it can even be regarded as a felony. Being convicted of a DUI felony in Georgia could have severe consequences on several elements of your life. It is in your best interest to reach out to an Athens DUI attorney immediately after you have been arrested for a DUI offense.
When Does DUI Become a Felony in Georgia?
A first-offense DUI is typically classified as a misdemeanor, but if you have a BAC of 0.08% or higher, you can be charged with a felony. A second offense DUI is automatically charged as a felony, despite the BAC level. A third offense DUI is also a felony, but you could face harsher repercussions if you have a BAC of 0.08% or higher.
If someone is injured in an auto accident caused by a drunk driver, the at-fault driver will be charged with a felony. If the victim dies, the charges can be even more severe, including vehicular homicide.
Types of Felony DUI in Georgia
Some of the offenses classified as felonies in Georgia include the following:
- Driving off an accident scene after causing serious physical harm to a third party.
- Evading a police officer after they have signaled you to stop.
- Reckless driving.
- Ignoring traffic control devices, such as yield, stop, railroad, or reduced speed limit signs.
Factors That Make a DUI a Felony in Georgia
If you are facing a DUI charge in Georgia, it is essential to understand how the state classifies different DUI offenses. Some of the factors that make a DUI a felony in Georgia include:
- Previous DUI convictions- If you have prior DUI convictions, you will be charged with a felony anytime you commit another DUI offense.
- Severe injury- If you cause serious bodily harm to a third party while driving under the influence, you will be charged with a felony.
- The involvement of a child- If caught driving under the influence with a minor in the vehicle, you will be charged with a felony.
- Driving on a suspended license- If your license has been suspended for committing a DUI offense and you are caught driving again, you will be charged with a felony.
Penalties for Felony DUI in Georgia
If you're convicted of a felony DUI in Georgia, you may be sentenced to up to five years in prison and fined up to $5,000. The minimum penalty is a $300 fine and one-day jail time. Your driver's license may be suspended, and you might be required to enroll in an alcohol treatment program.
Contact an Athens DUI Attorney Today
At Ryan Swingle Law, we understand the dynamics of license suspension hearings, pretrial hearings, and criminal charges trials. We use this knowledge to come up with a defense strategy to ensure your rights are protected. If you or your loved one has been charged with a DUI offense in Georgia, contact us to schedule a case evaluation.