What are the Penalties for a First-time DUI Offense in Georgia?
At Ryan Swingle Law, we understand the dynamics of Georgia's first-time DUI offense laws. Our Georgia DUI attorney will evaluate your case, provide legal representation within 30 days and inform you about your legal options.
Driving under the influence is a punishable offense in Georgia. With the number of drivers driving under the influence increasing in recent years, Georgia has imposed severe penalties even for first-time DUI offenders.
In most cases, first-time DUI offenses are considered misdemeanors, but that doesn't mean the consequences are minor. Learning about the penalties for a first-time misdemeanor prepares you for what to expect if you are convicted of a DUI offense. Working with a Georgia DUI attorney for a case evaluation and developing strategies to face the charges is essential.
30 Days to Appeal
If you have been arrested for a DUI offense in Georgia, you have 30 days to appeal the suspension of your license. Therefore, it is imperative that you reach out to Georgia DUI attorney Ryan Swingle to seek counsel regarding the next steps after a DUI arrest.
First DUI Charge Penalties
Although misdemeanors are not as severe as criminal charges, they can be very punitive. Some of the penalties include:
- $200-1000 fines
- 12 hours- 24 months jail terms
- 40 hours of community service
- 12 months of supervised or unmonitored probation
- Drug and alcohol counseling
- Attending DUI school
- Alcohol and drugs treatment and rehabilitation
Many of these penalties are not the minimum sentencing for first-time DUI offenses. Working with a Georgia DUI attorney helps to improve your chances of receiving a minimum sentence.
What an Administrative License Hearing Entails
Filing for an administrative License Hearing will cost you $150. Some of the questions that may arise during the hearing include:
- Was the arrest lawful?
- Did your DUI involve an accident that caused injuries or death?
- Did the arresting officer inform you about your rights?
- Did you resist taking a blood, breath, or urine test during the arrest?
- If you agree to take an alcohol test, you will regain your right to drive within 30 days, provided you attend DUI school.
What to Expect from a Criminal Hearing
The criminal hearing for a first-time DUI offense occurs in a different place with a different judge from the one in the Administrative License Hearing. The judge will decide upon other penalties to impose during the criminal hearing.
It is essential to treat your first-time DUI criminal hearing as seriously as any other criminal proceedings and let a Georgia DUI attorney fight for your rights.
Schedule a Consultation with a Georgia DUI Attorney
At Ryan Swingle Law, we understand the dynamics of Georgia's first-time DUI offense laws. Our Georgia DUI attorney will evaluate your case, provide legal representation within 30 days and inform you about your legal options. Contact us to discover more about how we can build a solid defense for your case.